Cambridge University Press


Cambridge University Press is the publishing house of the University of Cambridge. The publishing house was founded in 1534 and is the oldest still existing publishing house in the world. Cambridge University Press has 50 branches worldwide and about 2000 employees. It publishes 45,000 different books and 300 scientific journals. Part of the publisher's profit is returned to the university.

Licence data

Deal duration
Status licence
Finalised licence
Terms and conditions

License and conditions

  • There is an agreement with Cambridge University Press to publish open access in 261 hybrid and 20 full open access journals. all titles are included in the title list.
  • A number of journals (especially society journals) are excluded from the deal, but corresponding authors can always ask if their article can be published OA without further charges.
  • The agreement applies to all universities, except Eindhoven University of Technology (TUE) and WAgeningen University (WUR).
  • The corresponding author must be associated with one of the eligible Dutch universities.

How does it work?

  • Corresponding authors must use their institutional email address during submission.
  • After an article has been accepted, the corresponding author may indicate under which affiliation he/she submitted the article; CUP will know that the author is entitled to APC remission.
  • An 'Apply Discount' button appears that the author must click to confirm OA publication.


More information


Link to the CUP website with information about the open access agreement.

You are here

Dutch National website providing information for academics about the advantages of open access to publicly financed research

About this website


Follow us